Shanghaii, Shanghoeee

First of all I just want to thank everyone for all the kind messages I received after my ranty whiney blog post. China has started to like me a bit more now so on to the Shanghai shenanigans!

At the start of October every year China has a national holiday for a week, and everyone goes everywhere! I skipped travelling on the actual national day and missed most of the queues at the airport! I was also so scared about not getting a taxi that I got to the airport roughly 2 hours before check in opened. Can’t call me unprepared! After a kfc, me and my broken toe found a corner to sit in and read until I could check in.

I’d heard horror stories about flights being cancelled and horribly delayed in China but I had no problems. Flight was full but everything was on time which is all you really need from a flight!

So onto Shanghai!! The hostel we were in was so cool!! Had a pool and pingpong table and actual comfy beds and a lock for the locker they provided. Only problem was that I was on the top bunk, and as anyone who has travelled with me knows, I’m not great at getting down from there. In this case I was even worse because of a minor case of big toe breakage.

image

image

Once everyone had arrived we got dressed and found alcohol for free!! The first night was so much fun, it was so nice to see everyone again and not worry about school. The club we were at was really strange and full of smoke, but at one point they gave out what looked like pool woggles but they lit up!! Apart from the fact that I had a mysterious bruise on my forehead the next day and spent a large portion of the night making sure my chest was contained, it was fantastic!

image

Le bruise covered in makeup

image

I put this photo on a powerpoint slide last week. One students reaction “teacher!! What are you doing?!?!?!”

The next day, after a late start and avocado eggs benedict for breakfast (yayy) we decided to explore the Bund. As did every other person in Shanghai it seemed, it was absolutely packed full of people! Really cool to see it though, super futuristic.

image

image

image

That night we found a random sports bar and had a brief darts game which I may have lost…. Before we were up slightly earlier to explore some more and check out a propaganda museum in someone’s basement! I didn’t get any photos but it was so cool and worth getting absolutely drenched on the way there! Its basically got propaganda posters through the years on the walls and you can see how things changed. I bought a couple of postcards of my favourite ones.

image

Knowledge is power//support the revolution! Use birth control//celebrating the first h bomb.

We met up with some other ELA’s there and arranged to see them later at a sports bar. After a couple of hours catching up we were promptly booted out of the place for not drinking enough!!

Day Trip time!!! Long long day spent at Hangzhou but so much fun was had in the constant rain. Up bright and early to catch the bullet train Charlotte and I utilised the first class seats we’d splurged on and fell asleep for the entire journey. Then after seeing a really famous beautiful lake covered in mist and dampness and some historical dress up we holed away in a coffee place for me to rest my toe and to plan our next move.

Which was to meet up with our hostel friend Scottish Tom in a street and tried to find a medical museum. Whilst we never did find the museum we found a drum tower, traditional medicine shops and street food.

image

image

image

After the street we walked up to a temple and explored some more. The mist did impact my photos quite a bit!

image

All in all though, a nice day trip! When we returned we went to a jazz bar and drank cocktails before heading back to the hostel.

On the last full day some of us went and explored the art district. There was so much to see we were there for a good 3 hours and we didn’t see everything!

image

Then after spending hours finding food we attempted to go in the pearl tower and see Shanghai from above. Sadly the admission price was extortionate and the queue was 2 hours long. Instead we blagged our way into a posh hotel’s very high up bar and began to drink. The view up there was spectacular, and because we stayed so long we got to see the sun set.

image

After a very heavy night on the cocktails and bumping into Izzie in a club, I spent my last morning in Shanghai in bed wearing what id wore the night before! After hotpot, shopping and a sit down, it was time for me to head back to reality and fly home. My flight was so late that I got into my flat at half 12 and naturally had my longest teaching day the next day so was up at half 6. Yay! So worth it though, Shanghai was amazing!

Sorry for the length of this, it really spiralled!!! Next time you’ll hear all about the time Chinese families got me and Izzie drunk by 2 in the afternoon

Leave a Reply

